Mother’s Day Blog Hop: Where I Go To Relax

Nightstands | Wingback Bed | Rug | Navy Pillow Covers: Target (similar here) | Gray Pillows: Home Goods | Flowers: Balsam Hill (some similar here) | Chair: given to us from friends who didn’t want it anymore | Metal Table: Home Goods

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you… life with newborn twins is super fun and also totally crazy. There are days when I feel like we did okay and other days where I feel like I’ve regularly failed throughout the day (that’s motherhood, right?). The best days end with the babies falling asleep a little before Drew and Elle so that we can do stories with the bigger kids and give them our full attention. Once every one is asleep, what AJ and I have been doing for the last few months, is cleaning up downstairs so we have a fresh start in the morning and then coming up and relaxing in bed, instead of on the couch downstairs so we can hear the babies if they wake up.

I had this vision in my head of a restful bedroom that would be close to the kids but still feel like a grown up escape. My entire vision started with the gray wing back bed and then continued with soothing colors throughout the room, like in the rug. The space isn’t done, I’d still like to hang some family photos and artwork and make some curtains, but for now it feels like a great place to regroup and recharge. (I’m sitting in bed as I type this now!)

Here are some of my tips for feeling like I can relax and recharge at the end of the day:

  1. Clean up things that’ll set you back for the next day. I usually go to bed with a clean or mostly clean kitchen… it’s painful to take care of stuff after the kids go to bed when all I want to do is sink into bed with a good book or Parenthood but it’s sooo worth it. Usually I’ll set the timer for 10 minutes and see how much I can do during that time period. It feels manageable even when I’m exhausted and I can get a great amount of stuff done.
  2. Get a good book; we are regularly at the library. I generally never read any great literature or heavy things at this point in my life… when I have time to read I want it to be fun and relaxing. I’m working my way through all of Elin Hilderbrand’s books now, they are so relaxing. My other favorite authors to zone out to are Mary Kay Andrews and David Baldacci (he’s more suspense / mystery).
  3. Get rid of that pile of clean laundry. I say this as I have a giant pile of clean laundry sitting on our chair. 🙂
  4. Light a candle. I adore ones that smell like magnolia or gardenia…
  5. Set a few minutes every night to answer any emails so you don’t have to worry about that in the morning.
  6. Go for a run and listen to a sermon or podcast (my absolute favorite right now, that I listen to and RAVE about to AJ regularly is the Happy Hour with Jamie Ivy). If you have a full life it’s such a dynamite way to recharge and get something done at the same time. Some real estate clients of ours gave us a treadmill and it’s in the basement for when I’ve had no time to run during the day and am too scared to go out in the dark at night by myself after the kids go to bed.

I have to give a huge thank you to Joss & Main for providing us with some of the furniture and the rug for this makeover. This room has truly been a beautiful place to relax ever since the twins have joined our family. AJ and I love working with a company that provides good solid products and very reasonable prices. We’ve had the nightstands for about a year and a half now and they are in great shape and are so solid and feel the same way about our bathroom vanity, which is also Joss & Main. We are entertaining the idea of a flip house project for the summer and I’ve been researching which Joss & Main vanities I want to purchase for that project. I’m telling you all this so that you know we totally stand by what I’m sharing with you today!

The post Mother’s Day Blog Hop: Where I Go To Relax appeared first on Migonis Home.

Mother’s Day Blog Hop: Where I Go To Relax posted first on your-t1-blog-url

Author: Home Optimized

Every homeowner look for fresh kitchen ideas? After all, your kitchen is so much more than just another room. You want it to look great, but you need it to work even better. We've got home improvement tips for your kitchen by the dozen. Thinking of doing a DIY kitchen makeover? Our homeowner stories deliver advice, from lighting updates to customized countertops. You really can create a kitchen that functions as beautifully as it looks.

Leave a Reply

